top of page

Day 1 of ELP

Updated: Oct 19, 2018


Saying goodbye to family on the first day of college isn’t easy, but the Experience Leadership Project (ELP) hosted by the Center for Leadership and Community Engagement (CLCE) makes saying goodbye just a little bit easier. First-year students that signed up to join ELP moved into their dorms a week early before getting swept away on a four-day retreat in the Cascade Mountains at Camp Ghormley. 



Although this is the 13th year of ELP, Joanne Perez, the Assistant Director of CLCE, has been the program manager for ELP for 11 years.


“This program is so satisfying to work on. It takes the majority of my time during the summer to prepare for ELP. I feel the most anxious a week or two before our team leaders’ training, thinking there is something that I’m forgetting to do, or I need to hire another team leader, or we don’t have enough vans, but then as soon as the students start arriving and I’m talking at ELP orientation, I breathe a sigh of relief and tell myself, that it was all worth it!” Perez said. 

After a warm welcome and orientation session hosted by ELP staff Monday morning, the 112 first-year students and their parents headed straight for the residence halls with cars packed full of dorm room essentials. With the help of their soon-to-be team leaders at camp, they quickly got settled in and acclimated to the dorm life. 


Hugs were passed around as parents handed off their college students to the excited ELP leaders ready to take them on an adventure that they will never forget. The 112 first-year students piled into busses and vans alongside their new ELP teammates they were paired to spend all week with. 

“It was so great getting to be around a small group of other freshmen and know they were going through the same thing as I was. It was so nice getting on the bus and heading off to ELP right away, it made saying goodbye so much easier and kept my mind occupied,” freshman Christine Anderson said. 

After the emotional goodbyes with family, the first-year students quickly found distraction after arriving at Camp Ghormley. No wifi connection, limited cell service, and back to back activities made for an easy transition to camp-life. 



ELP is not just for incoming first-year students. First-year transfer students also capitalized on the experience to meet new people and prepare themselves for their time at CWU. Coming to a new school can be intimidating but ELP helps alleviate some of the nerves. 


“Since I’m a first year junior, I’m not doing the Wildcat Welcome that all the freshmen get to do. This is especially helpful for me since I can get to know people in a way I wouldn’t be able to otherwise. I already feel like I have a built in family,” junior Ashley Masters said. 


After getting settled into their bunks and exploring the camp ground, teams met up with their leaders to make name tags, establish their team names, and come up with a team cheer to perform in front of everyone! Many of the team leaders were once ELP campers themselves and wanted to come back again to make an impact on students the same way their leaders did for them. 

“I’ve gone to ELP every year that I’ve been at Central. I went my freshman year as a camper, absolutely loved it, and went back every year after that to be a team leader. I’m so thankful for the memories I’ve made, friends that I’ve met, and skills I’ve gained through ELP. It’s really a one of a kind experience,” senior Kristin Kensrud said. 


Day one of ELP was full of exciting changes for first-year students. Their first day on campus, first day without their parents, first day in their dorm, first day of ELP, and first day officially as a Wildcat. The energy was high and anticipation filled the camp for what the rest of ELP would hold!

bottom of page